|
Printer Friendly Version
HOW TO SEARCH BY PUBLICATIONS
|
Use the Publications Search when you want to read
articles from a specific journal or find all journals with the same
subject heading. (Subject headings group journals together by
subject.) To practice a publications search, click here,
or read the step-by-step instructions below.
|
|
1. |
Click on the Publications button. (Where is this?) |
|
2. |
Ignore the search box labeled Find. (A search in this box does
a standard keyword search.) Type in the box labeled Browse
Publications. (Where is this?) |
|
3. |
Search for either a specific journal title or to find all
journals about a specific subject. To find a journal
title:
Type the first few words of the
title and select
Alphabetical for a search type. (Where is this?) This search
finds journal titles that begin with the word or
words you typed. If you are not sure of the first words of the title, type other words
in the title and
select By Subject (where is this?) for a search type. This
searches for the search words anywhere in the journal title as
well as in subject headings. To find all journals
about a specific subject:
Type in words that describe the subject. Select By Subject
(where is this?) for
a search type. This search finds publications
that contain the words in the subject heading or title. Or select By Subject & Description (where is this?) for a search type.
This search looks for the words you typed in the description
as well as in the title and subject heading. |
|
4. |
Click the Browse button. |
|
5. |
Journal and magazine titles matching your search are listed. |
|
6. |
Click
on the title you want. |
|
7. |
Information about the journal or magazine is listed. On the
right side is a column of dates. Click on the date you would
like and the listing will expand to contain all the issues
published during that time. |
|
8. |
Click on the date of the issue you would like to read. |
|
9. |
Articles from that issue are listed. Full text articles are
noted with the link "HTML Full Text." To see additional
articles click on Next. |
|
10. |
Click on a title to see the citation. Or click on "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" to read the
article. Note: Ask a librarian for help in finding the full text of an article
that has only a citation in the MasterFILE Select database. |
|
11. |
You can print or email the article. |
Search tips:
Instead of selecting
Alphabetical, By subject or By subject & Description, you can select Match
any words. With this search a journal or magazine title only needs to
contain one of your search words.
You can also search for articles by keyword within a specific journal
or magazine. On the page that displays detailed information about the
journal or magazine you will see the link "Search within this
publication." Click on it and a search box will appear with JN (for
Journal Name) followed by the journal or magazine name in quotes in the
search box. To the left of JN type the word or words for the topic you are
interested in followed by the word "and" (without the quotes).
Example: airport security and JN "Wall Street Journal" Click
the Search button.
To practice a publications search, click here.
To go directly to the MasterFILE Select database,
click here.
copyright 2005
This web page was supported by Federal Library
Services and Technology Act funds, awarded to the New York State Library
by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.
| LIBRAWeb |
Member Library Directory |
Explore the
Internet |
| News & Events |
Who We Are
| Community Information |
LIBRA Home
|

|